University of Houston Law Center Logo
Give Now  
HOME Faculty

UH Law Center alumni and faculty celebrated at virtual 2020-2021 Law Alumni Association ceremony

May 28, 2021 - University of Houston Law Center professors and graduates who bolstered the school's reputation in the business and legal communities were recognized during a virtual awards reception last week, hosted by the UH Law Alumni Association.

"I am delighted that we were able to recognize alumni and faculty achievements at the virtual Law Alumni Association Annual Meeting,” said Dean Leonard M. Baynes. “One very important aspect about the Law Center is that we have very engaged, accomplished and talented alumni and faculty. I know that it was hard for the Awards Committee to decide among such talented nominees.

“We usually distribute these awards at the annual Gala, which was unfortunately cancelled this year due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. I am delighted that we were able to recognize their achievement at this year’s virtual annual meeting.”   

Award recipients included:

Dean’s Award
Rosland Fisher McLeod ‘96

  • For outstanding loyalty and dedication to the University of Houston Law Center.

Corporate Sector Achievement Award
Brad Tucker ‘79

  • In recognition of exceptional achievement and legal excellence in the corporate and business communities.

Pro Bono/Community Service & Leadership Award
Laura Gibson ‘84

  • In recognition of an alumnus that has dedicated substantial service to the community as a volunteer and leader.

Faculty Distinction Award
Professor Sandra Guerra Thompson

  • In recognition of a member of the Law Center faculty that has distinguished themselves in their field of expertise.

Law Gala & Auction Award
Bracewell LLP and Yvonne Ho ‘06 and Allen Rice

  • In recognition of exceptional volunteer service and leadership to the UH Law Gala by an alumnus.

Public/Non-Profit Sector Achievement Award
Anna Archer ‘06

  • In recognition of exceptional achievement and legal excellence in public service.

Honorary Alumni Award
Honorable Christine Weems

  • In recognition of exemplary service and dedication to the Law Center by a lawyer that is not an alumni.

Private Practice Achievement Award
Sofia Adrogue´ ‘91

  • In recognition of exceptional achievement in and legal excellence in private practice.

Diversity and Inclusion Award
Amira Love ‘07
James E. Payne ‘93

  • In recognition of significant commitment of an alumnus to diversity and inclusion by fostering a more diverse and inclusive legal community.

Rising Star Award
Stephanie Eberhardt ‘13
Jessica E. Schaffner ‘14

  • In recognition of outstanding achievement and notable commitment to the UH Law Center by alumni graduates from 2010-2020.

James M. Roach Law Fund Volunteer Award
Professor Lauren Jansen Simpson ‘94

  • To a volunteer alumnus that has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to raising funds for the UH Law Center.

President’s Award
Cynthia M. Mabry ’10

  • In recognition of outstanding commitment, service, and dedication to UH Law Center students and alumni.

Alumnus of the Year
Thomas F.A. Hetherington ‘98

  • In recognition of exceptional and continued achievement and noteworthy contributions to the legal profession by an alumnus.

Back to News Homepage