University of Houston Law Center Logo Give Now  

UH Law Alumni Association Awards 2021-2022 Recipients Announced

April 6, 2022 – The UH Law Alumni Association has selected outstanding alumni and law faculty who have made significant contributions and who continue to showcase the Law Center in the business and legal community.

Winners for 2021-2022 are as follows:

Dean’s Award: The John M. O’Quinn Foundation
President’s Award: Lawrence J. Pirtle ’66
Alumnus of the Year Award: The Honorable Gray H. Miller ’78
Corporate Sector Award: Fermeen F. Fazal ’00
Faculty Distinction Award: Prof. Renee Knake Jefferson and Prof. Ryan M. Marquez ’09
Honorary Alumnus Award: Dean Leonard M. Baynes
James M. Roach Law Fund: Edward E. “Ned” Hartline ’73
Law Gala & Auction Award: Norton Rose Fulbright
Private Practice Award: John T. Goodgame ’97 and Paul D. Moak ’95
Public/Non-profit Sector Achievement Award: Paul E. Furrh, Jr. ’78
Pro Bono/Community Service Award: Marcy H. Greer ’90
Diversity & Inclusion Award: Judge Phyllis Randolph Frye ’81
Rising Star Award: Judge Tamecia S. Glover ’12 and Andrew J. Cobos ’11

Awards will be presented at the 45th Annual Law Gala & Auction to be held this Saturday, April 9 at the Post Oak Hotel. This year’s Gala will also celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Law Center.

More information can be found at

Back to News Homepage

University of Houston Law Center

4170 Martin Luther King Blvd
Houston, TX 77204-6060

713-743-2100 General
713-743-2094 Legal Clinics