University of Houston Law Center Logo
Give Now  
HOME Faculty

UH Law Center profs share legal writing expertise heading national committees

March 20, 2019 — Four Lawyering Skills and Strategies professors at the University of Houston Law Center have assumed leadership roles on key committees in national legal writing organizations.

Professor Katherine Brem chairs the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) Teaching Grants Committee, which works with the organization’s board of directors to select recipients for summer teaching grants. The grants fund implementation of innovative teaching ideas to promote rigor in legal analysis, legal writing and legal research instruction. 

Professor Sarah Morath chairs the Legal Writing Institute (LWI) side of the LWI-ALWD-LexisNexis Scholarship Grants awarded each year to legal research and writing professors. The grants enable recipients to explore scholarly ideas and produce scholarship that will assist others in the field of legal research and writing.

Professor Lauren Simpson is the chair of the ALWD Bylaws Committee, which reviews and suggests potential changes in the association’s bylaws and implements revisions approved by the ALWD board.

Professor Kenneth Swift is the co-chair of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Section on Legal Writing, Research, and Reasoning (LWRR) Awards Committee.  The committee recommends to the executive committee the recipient of the LWRR Section Award for service, scholarship, and legal writing program design or other activity valuable to the advancement of the field of legal writing.

“I am delighted to have such an excellent cadre of Lawyering Skills and Strategies professors,” said Dean Leonard M. Baynes. “They are excellent teachers and fully integrated into the life of the Law Center by doing a great deal of service to the Law Center community. I am also delighted that they have taken on outside leadership roles among the legal writing community of scholars.  To have four Lawyering Skills and Strategies professors (almost one-half of the department) at the helm of important national legal writing committees reflects their strength and leadership abilities.”

Professor Sarah Morath Professor Lauren Simpson Professor Kenneth Swift Professor Katherine Brem


Back to News Homepage