University of Houston Law Center Logo
Give Now  
HOME Faculty

UH Law Center Professor Wells elected to American Law Institute

AUniversity of Houston Law Center Professor Bret Wells, the Law Foundation Professor of Law.

University of Houston Law Center Professor Bret Wells, the Law Foundation Professor of Law.

Dec. 23, 2020 - Professor Bret Wells became the latest member of the University of Houston Law Center faculty to be named to the American Law Institute in December.

Wells, the Law Foundation Professor of Law, was one of 41 legal professionals to be named to the ALI, which recognizes exceptional judges, lawyers, and legal academics from all states and the District of Columbia, along with international members.

"I am pleased to welcome this new group of practicing lawyers, academics, and state and federal judges who will bring their own unique voices and contributions to our work, at a time when our work is most needed," said ALI President David F. Levi in a statement.

"Our membership continues to prove that civil debate and careful deliberation are still possible, even on a virtual platform. We welcome these new members and look forward to the contributions they will make to our Restatement, Principles, and Model Code projects. It will be a particular pleasure to welcome them in person just as soon as that becomes possible."

Wells, whose scholarship focuses on federal income tax matters, teaches Federal Income Taxation, Corporate Taxation, International Taxation and Oil and Gas. He provided testimony before the U.S. Senate Committee on Finance in 2016 and 2017 and the U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means Subcommittee on "Select Revenue Measures on Tax Reform and Investment in the United States" in 2011.

Other members of the ALI from the Law Center include: Professor Emeritus Richard M. Alderman, Dean Leonard M. Baynes (ex-officio), Professor Richard F. Dole, Jr., Professor David R. Dow, Professor Meredith J. Duncan, Professor David Fagundes Instructional Associate Professor Tracy Hester, Professor Lonny Hoffman, Professor Stephen Huber, Professor Craig Joyce, Professor Emeritus Robert Knauss, Professor Peter Linzer, Professor Douglas Moll, Professor J. Thomas Oldham, Professor Emeritus Michael A. Olivas, Professor Joseph Sanders, Professor emeritus William P. Streng, Professor Sandra Guerra Thompson, and Professor Ronald Turner. The late Ben Sheppard, Professors and former Deans Raymond T. Nimmer and Stephen Zamora also were members of the ALI.

Back to News Homepage