Lawyering Skills and Strategies

 

Helpful Links

Supreme Court Opinion Search - http://www.justia.us/

UH Law Center/Writing Center Partnership - http://www.uh.edu/writecen/WID/Law/lawcenterwritingsupport.htm

Plagiarism (Purdue OWL) http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_plagiar.html

Writing Tip of the Week

ABA Sites:

ABA Approved Law Schools - http://www.abanet.org/legaled/approvedlawschools/approved.html
ABA Homepage - http://www.abanet.org/
ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar - http://www.abanet.org/legaled/
ABA Standards for Approval of Law Schools - http://www.abanet.org/legaled/standards/standards.html

Association of American Law Schools Sites:

AALS Homepage - http://www.aals.org/
AALS Member Schools - http://www.aals.org/members.html
AALS Statements of Good Practices - http://www.aals.org/state.html

Law Review Directories

Directory of Law Reviews (Anderson Pub.) - http://www.andersonpublishing.com/lawschool/directory/
FindLaw Academic Law Reviews and Journals - http://lawschools.findlaw.com/journals/

Other Organizations

American Association of Law Libraries - http://www.aallnet.org/index.asp
American Association of University Professors - http://www.aaup.org/
Aspen Publishers - http://www.aspenpublishers.com/
CALI - http://www.cali.org/
Clinical Legal Education Assn (CLEA) - http://clinic.law.cuny.edu/clea/clea.html
Directory of Legal Academia - http://www.law.cornell.edu:80/dla/
FindLaw - Law Schools A-Z - http://www.findlaw.com/02lawschools/fulllist.html
JURIST - http://jurist.law.pitt.edu/
National Conference of Bar Examiners - http://www.ncbex.org/
Plagiarism.org - http://www.plagiarism.org/
Scribes - http://www.scribes.org/home.htm
Society of American Law Teachers (SALT) - http://www.saltlaw.org/

Other sites:

Government Info & Forms
Bureau of Labor Statistics - http://stats.bls.gov/blshome.htm
Commerce Dept. FedWorld - http://www.fedworld.gov/
Federal Web Locator - http://www.law.vill.edu/Fed-Agency/fedwebloc.html
Government Forms -- Links for Download Sites - http://www.lib.memphis.edu/gpo/forms.htm
Internal Revenue Service - http://www.irs.gov/
Library of Congress Home Page - http://www.loc.gov/


Lawyer Directories
ABA House of Delegates E-Mail Directory - http://www.abanet.org/leadership/hod_email.html#PENNSYLVANIA
Lawyer Directory from Martindale-Hubbell - http://www.martindale.com/

Legal Research Sites
Bibliographic Formats for Citing Electronic Information - http://www.uvm.edu/~ncrane/estyles/
Google University Search - http://www.google.com/options/universities.html
Hein-On-Line - http://www.heinonline.org/
Internet Legal Resource Guide - http://www.ilrg.com/
Law Lists - http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/~llou/lawlists/info.html
Legal Information Institute - http://www.law.cornell.edu/
Legal Publishers' List - http://www.colorado.edu/Law/lawlib/ts/legpub.htm#list
Lexis-Nexis - http://lawschool.lexis.com/
Quicklaw America - http://www.quicklawamerica.com/
Urban Legends and Folklore - http://urbanlegends.miningco.com/science/urbanlegends/mbody.htm
US Supreme Court Argument Transcripts - http://www.supremecourtus.gov/calendar/argument_trans.html
US Supreme Court - A Resource Guide to the US Supreme Court - http://legalmetro.com/library/a-resource-guide-to-the-us-supreme-court.html
US Supreme Court - The Oyez project - http://www.oyez.org
US Supreme Court - http://www.supremecourtus.gov/

West Group Products Picture Directory - http://lawschool.westlaw.com/faculty/digpic.asp
Westlaw.com - http://www.lawschool.westlaw.com/
WWW Virtual Library- Law - http://www.law.indiana.edu/law/v-lib/lawindex.html

Newspapers
Chronicle of Higher Education - http://chronicle.com
Los Angeles Times - http://www.latimes.com
New York Times - http://www.nytimes.com
Philadelphia Inquirer - http://www.phillynews.com/inquirer/
Wall Street Journal - http://www.wsj.com
Washington Post - http://www.washingtonpost.com/

Other Information
ACCRA Cost of Living Index - http://www.accra.org/edu_prof/pubs/coli_sample.htm
Bartleby.com Great Books Online - http://www.bartleby.com/
Britannica.com - http://www.britannica.com/
CataList, catalog of LISTSERV lists - http://www.lsoft.com/lists/listref.html
CompletePlanet Database Search - http://www.completeplanet.com/
ConsumerREVIEW.com - http://www.consumerreview.com/
Deja.com - http://www.deja.com/
Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections - http://infomine.ucr.edu/
Library of Congress Online Catalogs - http://catalog.loc.gov/
PDR.net - http://www.pdr.net/physicians_desk_reference/
ScamBusters - http://www.scambusters.com/index.html
Search Systems (Public Records) - http://www.searchsystems.net/
The Quotations Page - http://www.quotationspage.com/
Thomas Register - http://www.thomasregister.com/index.html
U. Michigan - Statistical Resources - http://www.lib.umich.edu/libhome/Documents.center/frames/steccpfr.html