University of Houston Law Center Logo



Black Lawyers Matter:
Strategies to Enhance Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Virtual Symposium

8 Texas CLE hours with .25 ethics

Friday, October 30, 2020

8:15 - 8:30 AM: Welcome and Introduction

Leonard M. Baynes
Dean and Professor of Law
University of Houston Law Center

Jennifer Collins
Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law
SMU Dedman School of Law

Michael F. Barry, President and Dean, South Texas College of Law Houston

8:30 - 9:00 AM: Opening Speaker (.5 General CLE with .25 ethics)
Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee, U.S. Member of Congress for 18th District of Texas

9:00 - 10:30 AM: Increasing Black Enrollment in Law Schools  (1.5 General CLE)

Patricia Roberts, Dean and Charles E. Cantu Distinguished Professor of Law St. Mary’s University School of Law
Jack Wade Nowlin, Dean and W. Frank Newton Professor of Law Texas Tech School of Law

Meredith J. Duncan, Professor of Law and Assistant Dean of Diversity, Inclusion and Metropolitan Programs, University of Houston Law Center
Rebecca R. McMahon, CEO Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association
Michael Meyerson, Piper Professor of Law and Director of University of Baltimore Law School, Fannie Angelos Program for Academic Excellence
James O’Neal, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Legal Outreach
Bill Weaver, Director of UTEP’s LSPI College Summer Program

10:30 - 10:45 AM: Break

10:45 AM - 12:00 PM: The Role of Historically Black Law Schools (1.25 General CLE)

A. Felecia Epps, Dean and Professor of Law, UNT Dallas College of Law

Joan R.M. Bullock, Dean and Professor of Law, Texas Southern, Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Danielle Holley-Walker, Dean and Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law
Renée McDonald Hutchins, Dean and Professor of Law, University of District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law
Deidré A. Keller, Dean and Professor of Law, Florida A&M University College of Law
Browne C. Lewis, Dean and Professor of Law, North Carolina Central University School of Law
John K. Pierre, Chancellor and Vanue B. Lacour Endowed Professor of Law, Southern University Law Center

12:00 -12:10 PM: Break

12:10 - 12:45 PM: Bracewell LLP Distinguished Lecture in Racial and Social Justice Keynote Speaker (.5 General CLE)

Bradley J.B. Toben, Dean & M.C. & Mattie Caston Professor of Law, Baylor Law School

Bracewell LLP Distinguished Lecture in Racial and Social Justice Keynote Speaker:
David B. Wilkins, Lester Kissel Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, Vice Dean for Global Initiatives on the Legal Profession, Faculty Director of the Center on the Legal Profession and the Center for Lawyers and the Professional Services Industry

12:45 - 1:00 PM: Break

1:00 - 2:30 PM: The LSAT, Socioeconomics and U.S. News & World Report (1.5 General CLE)

Leonard M. Baynes, Dean and Professor of Law, University of Houston Law Center

Robert B. Ahdieh, Dean and Anthony G.  Buzbee Endowed Dean’s Chair
Paul L. Caron, Duane and Kelly Roberts Dean, Pepperdine Caruso School of Law
Robert Morse, Chief Data Strategist, U.S. News & World Report
Victor Quintanilla, Professor of Law and Val Nolan Faculty Fellow; Co-Director, Center for Law, Society & Culture, Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Kellye Testy, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Law School Admission Council

2:30 - 2:45 PM: Break

2:45 - 4:00 PM: Pathways to the Profession: Hiring for Firms and Corporate Positions (1.25 General CLE)

Jennifer Collins, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law SMU Dedman School of Law

Sandra Phillips Rogers, Chief Diversity Officer and the General Counsel, Toyota Corp.
Chequan Lewis, Chief Equity Officer, Pizza Hut Corp.
James G. Leipold, Executive Director, NALP, National Association for Law Placement
Jami McKeon, Chair, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Christa Brown-Sanford, Partner and Deputy Department Chair, Intellectual Property (Firmwide) Baker Botts

4:00 - 4:15 PM: Break

4:15 - 6:00 PM: Diverse Pathways to the Profession: Law Faculty Hiring, the Judiciary, and Judicial Clerkships (1.5 General CLE)

Ward Farnsworth, Dean and John Jeffers Research Chair in Law, University of Texas School of Law

Honorable Roger Gregory, Chief Judge, Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals
Honorable Gregg Costa, Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
Honorable Vanessa Gilmore, Southern District of Texas
Chief Justice Nathan Hecht, Texas Supreme Court
Dean Daniel Tokaji, University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Law
Professor Meera E. Deo, 2020-21 American Bar Foundation William H. Neukom Fellows Research Chair in Diversity and Law, Director of the Law School Survey of Student Engagement (LSSSE),  and a Professor of Law at Thomas Jefferson School of Law