University of Houston Law Center Logo
Give Now  
HOME Faculty

Congratulations to our 2020-2021 Law Alumni Association Awards Winners!

Each year, the UH Law Alumni Association celebrates alumni and faculty who have made outstanding contributions that make the Law Center shine so brightly in the business and legal community. 

The awards were presented at the virtual UH Law Alumni Association Annual Meeting on Wednesday, May 19, 2021 at 5:00 pm (CST) and included the following:

Alumnus of the Year
Thomas F.A. Hetherington ‘98
In recognition of exceptional and continued achievement and noteworthy contributions to the legal profession by an alumnus.

Rising Star Award
Stephanie Eberhardt ‘13
Jessica E. Schaffner ‘14
(2010-2020 graduates eligible) In recognition of outstanding achievement and notable commitment to the UH Law Center by a young alumnus.

Diversity and Inclusion Award
Amira Love ‘07
James E. Payne ‘93
In recognition of significant commitment of an alumnus to diversity and inclusion by fostering a more diverse and inclusive legal community.

Corporate Sector Achievement Award
Brad Tucker ‘79
In recognition of exceptional achievement and legal excellence in the corporate and business communities.

Private Practice Achievement Award
Sofia Adrogue´ ‘91
In recognition of exceptional achievement in and legal excellence in private practice.

Public/Non-Profit Sector Achievement Award
Anna Archer ‘06
In recognition of exceptional achievement and legal excellence in public service.

Honorary Alumnus Award
Honorable Christine Weems
In recognition of exemplary service and dedication to the Law Center by a lawyer that is not an alumnus.

Faculty Distinction Award
Professor Sandra Guerra Thompson
In recognition of a member of the Law Center faculty that has distinguished themselves in their field of expertise.

Law Gala & Auction Award
Bracewell LLP and Yvonne Ho ‘06 and Allen Rice
In recognition of exceptional volunteer service and leadership to the UH Law Gala by an alumnus.

James M. Roach Law Fund Volunteer Award
Professor Lauren Jansen Simpson ‘94
To a volunteer alumnus that has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to raising funds for the UH Law Center.

Pro Bono/Community Service & Leadership Award
Laura Gibson ‘84
In recognition of an alumnus that has dedicated substantial service to the community as a volunteer and leader.

Dean’s Award
Rosland Fisher McLeod ‘96
For outstanding loyalty and dedication to the University of Houston Law Center.

President’s Award
Cynthia M. Mabry ’10
In recognition of outstanding commitment, service, and dedication to UH Law Center students and alumni.


 Questions? Please contact the Hope M. Young in the Office of Law Alumni Relations at or call 713-743-5099.

Click here to view the 2019-2020 Law Alumni Association Awards Winners