University of Houston Law Center Logo

Click here to go to the 2019 Arrival Awards

UHLC Immigration Clinic

Arrival Awards

University of Houston Law Center – Immigration Clinic
Invites you to Save the Date for the

2017 Arrival Awards
Recognizing Immigrant Achievement

Wednesday, January 25, 2017
River Oaks Country Club
6:30 pm Reception
7:00 pm Dinner & Program

Business Attire
Complimentary Valet Parking

The Arrival Awards recognize the successes and benefits that immigrants bring to our community and to the nation in general. Proceeds of the Arrival Awards Dinner benefit the Immigration Clinic at the University of Houston Law Center.


2017 Arrival Award Honorees

Roberto ContrerasRoberto Contreras, President and CEO of St. Christopher Holdings, Ltd.

A businessman with strong ties in the United States, Mexico and Europe, Mr. Contreras has made a name for himself as a respected entrepreneur. Mr. Contreras has started and owned several highly successful companies, including a surfacing company that is renowned worldwide, Cosentino North America. Currently, Mr. Contreras serves as Chief Executive Officer and Founder of St. Christopher Holdings, Ltd. (SCH), a boutique private equity and real estate investment firm with interests in various industries, including DC Partners, LLC. Mr. Contreras is also active in the local community, serving on the Boards of the Houston Zoo, the Board of Trustees for the KIPP Academy and Genesys Works Houston and is a member of the Harris County Sheriff's Office Foundation, the Young Presidents' Organization and the World Presidents' Organization.


Pershant MehtaPershant Mehta, President and CEO of Je Matadi Inc.

Mr. Mehta is president and CEO of Je Matadi Inc. and founder of Sean Collection Inc., Genesis Brands Inc and Luminess Direct LLC., the fastest growing direct cosmetics & skincare beauty company in North America. Luminess is a direct to consumer business operating multiple platforms. Located in Stafford, Texas, Luminess is positioned to become an annual billion dollar sales company by 2020 as it expands its footprint into retail. Mr. Mehta, along with his wife for nearly 20 years, Nidhika Mehta, are active philanthropists. Houston Chronicle listed the Mehtas in the top 5 most generous young philanthropists in the Houston Area in the year 2010. The Mehtas are active with UNICEF, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, University of Houston and approximately 30 domestic and international charities focusing on women and children's causes through their Stream of Change Foundation.


Manolo SánchezManolo Sánchez, Chairman and CEO of BBVA Compass

Manolo Sánchez is chairman and CEO of BBVA Compass and was named U.S. country manager for BBVA Group in 2010. Under his leadership, BBVA Compass has established itself as a bank driven by people, principles and innovation and a model of community involvement from Florida to California. Mr. Sánchez, whose responsibilities include BBVA operations in New York as well as Bancomer Financial Holdings, has worked for BBVA for nearly 25 years. Mr. Sánchez is a governing director of the Houston Symphony and a board member of the Institute of International Bankers, the American Bankers Association, KIPP Houston charter schools and the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. He is a member of the Greater Houston Partnership and the Houston chapter of the Young Presidents' Organization and is a trustee at the Post Oak Montessori School.


The Immigration Clinic at the University of Houston Law Center has assisted hundreds of immigrants who could not otherwise find legal representation.  On a pro bono basis, the Immigration Clinic represents individuals facing deportation before Immigration Courts and in asylum interviews before U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. It also assists crime victims, including victims of domestic violence, as well as U.S. citizens petitioning for their family members to obtain lawful status from around the world.

For more information or to get involved with this special celebration, please contact

2017 Arrival Awards Co-Chairs

Charles C. Foster
Foster, LLP
Gordon J. Quan
Quan Law Group, PLLC

2017 Executive Committee

Sofia Adrogué
Gray, Reed, & McGraw PC
Robert H. Etnyre
Royston, Rayzor, Vickery
& Williams
Nathaniel Martinez
Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr
Michael A. Olivas
Interim President
University of Houston Downtown
Peter D. Williamson
Chamberlain, Hrdlicka,
White, Williams & Aughtry

Previous Honorees

Samuel Abraham
Sofia Adrogué
Durga D. Agrawal
Eduardo Aguirre, Jr.
Taseer Badar
Leopoldo "Polo" Beccera
Leeshan Birney
Ghulam Bombaywala
Dr. Oscar Castaneda
Nancy T. Chang
Celina Fein
Mary Foreman
Ana Hernandez
Renu Khator, Ph.D.
Kase L. Lawal
Ayaz Nasser
Dr. Adan Rios
Ali Saberioon
Farouk Shami
Y. Ping Sun
Don Wang
Chris Wilmot