University of Houston Law Center Logo Give Now  
Race and Media

February 25-26, 2022

This event will explore historic and contemporary racial discrimination in all modalities of modern media.

Draft Schedule


Approved for 6 Hours of Texas MCLE credit on 02/25/22.
Approved for 5 Hours of Texas MCLE credit on 02/26/22.
Please contact for details on Texas credit.
For assistance applying for CLE credit in other states, please contact the Georgetown Law Office of Executive and Continuing Legal Education at

Confirmed participants include:

Professor Robin A. Lenhardt
Georgetown Law Center

William M. Treanor, Executive Vice President; Dean of the Law
Center; Paul Regis Dean
Leadership Chair and Professor
of Law

Leonard M. Baynes, Dean and
Professor of Law, University of
Houston Law Center

Alicia Bell, Co-Founder Media
2070, Director of the Racial
Equity in Journalism Fund
Borealis Philanthropy

Trevor Smith, Director of
Narrative Change Liberation

Joe Torres, Senor Director of
Strategy and Engagement, Free

Mark Lloyd, Clinical Professor of
Communication, U.S.C.
Annenberg School of
Communications and Journalism

Paul Starr, Professor of Sociology
and Public Affairs, and Stuart
Professor of Communications
and Public Affairs, Princeton

Cathy Hughes, Founder and
Chairperson of Urban One, Inc.
(formerly known as Radio One,
Inc. the largest African
American-owned and operated,
media company in the nation)

Anthony E. Varona
Dean-Designate, Seattle
University School of Law; Dean
Emeritus and Massey Chair,
University of Miami School of

Mignon Clyburn, Former FCC
Commissioner and now
President of MLC Strategies, LLC
David Honig, former President of
the Multicultural Media Telecom
Internet Council

RonNell Andersen Jones, Lee E.
Teitelbaum Professor of Law, The
University of Utah College of
Law and Affiliated Fellow, Yale
Law School Information Society

LaVonda Reed, Dean and
Professor of Law, Georgia State
University, College of Law

Nora Benavidez (she/her)
Senior Counsel and Director,
Digital Justice & Civil Rights,
Free Press & Free Press Action

James D. Nelson, Vinson & Elkins
Professor and Associate
Professor of Law and Business,
University of Houston Law

Howard Shelanski, Professor of
Law Georgetown Law Center

Cheryl L. Wade, Dean Harold F.
McNiece Professor of Law, St.
John’s University School of Law

Joel Waldfogel, Associate Dean
of MBA Programs and Frederick
R. Kappel Chair in Applied
Economics at the University of
Minnesota's Carlson School of

Malkia Devich Cyrilm, Founding
and former Executive Director of

William A. Darity, Jr., Samuel
DuBois Cook Professor of Public
Policy, African and African
American Studies, and
Economics and the director of
the Samuel DuBois Cook Center
on Social Equity at Duke

A.Kirsten Mullen, Folklorist and
the founder of Artefactual, an
arts-consulting practice, and
Carolina Circuit Writers, a
literary consortium that brings
expressive writers of color to the

Eric Miller, Professor of Law Leo
O’Brien Fellow, Loyola
Marymount University, Loyola
Law School Los Angeles

Safiya U. Noble Associate
Professor of Gender Studies and
African American Studies,
University of California, Los
Angeles. Co-Founder and
Co-Director of the UCLA Center
for Critical Internet Inquiry

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson
Lee, U.S. Member of Congress

Dave Fagundes, Baker Botts LLP
Professor of Law, University of
Houston Law Center

Jim Hawkins, Alumnae College
Professor in Law, University of
Houston Law Center

Tiany C. Penner, J.D. Candidate
2022, University of Houston Law

Catherine J. K. Sandoval,
Associate Professor of Law,
Santa Clara University School of

Carolyn M Byerly, Professor and
Chair Communication Culture,
Howard University

Christopher Terry, Assistant
Professor of Media Law,
University of Minnesota’s
Hubbard School of Journalism
and Mass Communication

Erin Carroll, Professor of Law,
Legal Practice, Georgetown Law
Cara Berg-Powers, Visiting
Lecturer, Clark University

Reginald Oh, Professor of Law,
Cleveland-Marshall College of

andre douglas pond cummings,
Charles Baum Distinguished
Professor of Law, WILLIAM H.

Caleb Conrad, Deputy
Prosecuting Attorney, 11th-West
District of Arkansas

Anupam Chander, Scott K.
Ginsburg Professor of Law and
Technology, Georgetown Law

John Tehranian, Paul W. Wildman
Chair and Professor of Law,
Southwestern Law School

Anjali Vats, Associate Professor
of Law, University of Pittsburgh
School of Law

Christian Sundquist, Professor of
Law, University of Pittsburgh,
School of Law

Susan Hanley Duncan, Dean,
University of Mississippi School
of Law

Emelia O’Neill, Banking and
Finance Major Class of 2023,
University of Mississippi
Itay Ravid, Assistant Professor of
Law, Villanova University Charles
Widger School of Law

Jennifer Safstrom, Counsel,
Institute for Constitutional
Advocacy and Protection at
Georgetown University Law

Christina Koningisor, Associate
Professor, The University of Utah
College of Law

Peter H. Huang, Professor and
DeMuth Chair, University of
Colorado Law School

John G. Browning, Partner,
Spencer Fane LLP

Antoine Haywood, Ph.D.
Candidate and Penn Presidential
Fellow at the University of
Pennsylvania’s Annenberg
School for Communication

Co-sponsored by:

Georgetown University Racial Justice Institute
The University of Houston is a Carnegie-designated Tier One research institution and an EEO/AA institution

University of Houston Law Center

4170 Martin Luther King Blvd
Houston, TX 77204-6060

713-743-2100 General
713-743-2094 Legal Clinics