Home

Presentation Schedule

Shuttle Bus Schedule

Dividing Lines

Hotel Information
& Directions

Houston Area Airports

Law Center Directions

Parking

About Houston

Dividing Lines

Past WIPIP Events

Dividing Lines

Contact & Registration

IPIL Homepage

About Houston

If you would like to get to know the City of Houston during your visit, below is a list of attractions near the hotel that might be of interest:

Downtown

Discovery Green: A twelve-acre urban park very near the Four Seasons Hotel: https://www.discoverygreen.com/history-of-discovery-green
George R. Brown Convention Center: 1.8 million square feet of exhibition space, plus several restaurants: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_R._Brown_Convention_Center
Emancipation Park: Houston's first park. Ten acres purchased in 1872 by the Antioch Baptist and Trinity Methodist Episcopal Churches and dedicated to Juneteenth celebrations: http://www.houstontx.gov/parks/parksites/emancipationpark.html
Houston County Courthouse: A 1910 example of lovely governmental architecture: http://www.thc.texas.gov/preserve/projects-and-programs/texas-historic-courthouse-preservation/restored-courthouses/harris
Julia Ideson Library Building: Houston's lovely 1926 public library: http://www.thc.texas.gov/preserve/projects-and-programs/state-antiquities-landmarks/julia-ideson-building-state-antiquities
Houston City Hall: Completed in 1939. One block north of the Ideson Library: http://www.houstontx.gov/abouthouston/cityhallhistory.html
Heritage Park: An assemblage of 19th Century Houston residences, churches, and other historic structures. A block west of the Ideson Library: http://www.houstontx.gov/parks/parksites/samhoustonpark.html
Market Square: The historic center of Houston. Sits on the site of the original City Hall (and near the Allen Brothers' landing site where Houston was founded): https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/market-square-park/20877/
Performing Arts District: Home of the Houston Symphony https://www.houstonsymphony.org/ , Houston Grand Opera https://www.houstongrandopera.org/ , the Houston Ballet https://www.houstonballet.org/ , the Alley Theater https://www.alleytheatre.org/ , the Hobby Center for the Performing Arts https://www.thehobbycenter.org/ , and the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts https://www.houstonisd.org/hspvarts . See generallyhttps://www.downtownhouston.org/district/theater/
Antioch Missionary Baptist Church: Historic Baptist church in the heart of Downtown Houston: http://www.ambchouston.org/
Freedmen's Town Historic District:  Home to large numbers of African-Americans who left the east Texas plantations beginning in 1866. http://texasindependencetrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/freedmens-town-historic-district
Union Station: Dedicated in 1911, and formerly a hub of rail transportation, the building now serves as a cornerstone for the Houston Astros' Minute Maid Park.
The Cistern: The Buffalo Bayou Park Cistern was one of the City of Houston's first underground drinking-water reservoirs. Built in 1926, it provided decades of service until it sprang a leak that couldn't be located or contained. The 87,500-square-foot expanse includes 25-foot tall concrete columns set row upon row, hovering over two inches of water on the reservoir's floor. Now re-purposed as a fun visitor attraction. https://buffalobayou.org/visit/destination/the-cistern/

Close to Downtown:

Museum District (and Beyond): Plenty to see within walking distance of each other:
Museum of Fine Arts (in buildings designed by William Ward Watkin, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, and Rafael Moneo) https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/museum-of-fine-arts-houston/19535/ ;
Museum of Natural Science (hugely popular locally for dinos and gems) https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/houston-museum-of-natural-science/19514/ ;
Contemporary Arts Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/contemporary-arts-museum-houston/22540/ ;
Children's Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/childrens-museum-of-houston/19471/ ;
Health Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/the-health-museum/19593/ ;
Asia Society Center https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/asia-society-texas-center/23296/ ;
Buffalo Soldiers National Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/buffalo-soldiers-national-museum/19738/ ; and
Museum of African American Culture https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/houston-museum-of-african-american-culture/23098/ .
Also of interest but outside the Museum District:
Menil Collection https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/the-menil-collection/19531/ ;
Printing Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/the-printing-museum/19594/ ;
Rienzi (European decorative arts) https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/rienzi/20517/ ; and
Holocaust Museum https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/holocaust-museum-houston/19579/ .
Texas Medical Center: Immediately south of the Museum District and hosting over 60 institutions, TMC is the largest medical complex in the world: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_Medical_Center ; http://www.tmc.edu/about-tmc/history/
Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1928 mansion at a bend in Buffalo Bayou, formerly the home of Houston philanthropist Ima Hogg. Now displaying early American decorative arts and paintings, dating from approximately 1620 to 1876, in 28 period-room settings. https://www.visithoustontexas.com/listings/bayou-bend-collection-and-gardens/19626/
Beer Can House: One of Houston's most recognizable folk art icons. It is covered with flattened beer cans, bottle caps, bottles, and other beer ephemera. The house is estimated to include over 50,000 beer cans. Same neighborhood as Bayou Bend. They make quite a pair. http://orangeshow.org/beer-can-house-history/