Page 4 - Dean's Awards
P. 4

Barbara H. Fritz Scholarship                    Houston Intellectual Property
Awarded to a student who has shown              Law Association (HIPLA) Scholarship
academic execellence, financial need            Awarded to students who demonstrate
and non-traditional educational path, in        interest in intellectual property through
fulfilling professional aspirations.            coursework, prior internships, prior
Donor: 	 The Family and Friends                 employment and participation in student
	 of Barbara H. Fritz                           organizations.
Recipient: 	 Judith “Zoe” Cadore                Donor: 	 HIPLA
                                                Recipients: Timothy J. Busse
Andy B. Thigpen '93 Scholarship                 	 Yan Xu
Andrew “Andy” Byron Thigpen '93 was a
big "Advocate" as he led the Advocates while    UH Law Center AIPLEF Jan Jancin
at the Law Center. After graduation, he         Award 2015 Nominee
enjoyed a successful career as a trial lawyer.  Awarded to the Law Center’s sole nominee
This scholarship is awarded a current 2L or     to a national scholarship competition
3L student who wrote the best essay about       conducted by the American Intellectual
preparing for a career as a trial lawyer.       Property Law Education Foundation
Donor: 	 Friends of Andy Thigpen                (AIPLEF), an organization formed by the
Recipient: 	 Barira Munshi                      nation’s preeminent IP bar organization,
                                                the American Intellectual Property Law
Judge Phyllis Randolph Frye Writing             Association (AIPLA). The scholarship is in
Competition Award                               honor of the late Jan Jancin, who served not
For the best paper in topics relating to        only as President of AIPLA, but served with
an area of law (i.e. family, employment,        distinction in several other leadership roles
education K-12, insurance, criminal) dealing    within the intellectual property bar.
with gender identity or gender expression,      Donors: 	 Institute for Intellectual Property
with preference given to transgender and        	 and Information Law
intersex issues.                                Recipient: 	 Steve Maule
Donor: 	 Judge Phyllis R. Frye
Recipient: 	 Monica E. Mensah                   UH Law Center 2015 IPIL Award
                                                for Distinguished Accomplishment
David Toomim Endowed Scholarship                Awarded to a student who has exemplified
David Toomim began law school after a           excellence in intellectual property academic
very successful career in public accounting,    studies and is interested in pursuing a career
but he never would have been able to attend     in intellectual property or information law.
college without a schlarship. In memory of      Donors: 	 Institute for Intellectual Property 	
this remarkable graduate, this scholarship      	 and Information Law
will be awarded to a current law student        Recipient:	 Sarah J. Kelly
who is over the age of 30, has financial need
and a passion for the law.
Donor: 	 Shirley W. Toomim
Recipient: 	 LaDelle “DeDe” Davenport
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9