UHLC Dean’s Awards honor best and brightest

Winners recognized for outstanding achievement and personal qualities.

Bookmark and Share

April 26, 2012 -- University of Houston Law Center Dean Raymond T. Nimmer awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships to outstanding students Wednesday evening during the annual Dean’s Awards ceremony.  The 64 scholarships and special awards were given to students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in various areas, including academics, volunteer service to the school or community, and commitment to specialized legal fields as well as those who have shown exceptional writing, advocacy, or other legal skills. Donors range from corporations to individuals in the name of family members or favorite professors.  See Dean’s Awards program.

Casey L. Jordan is the winner of the Ron Bass Scholarship awarded to a student who shows a sincere interest in civil liberties and helping others as demonstrated in their coursework, volunteer activities and other efforts. Alexander C. Hunt is the winner of the Robert C. Sohns ’72 Fellowship awarded for his interest in public service. Hunt will intern this summer at Lone Star Legal Aid where Sohns, left, spent his entire career. Natasha B. Breaux is awarded the Houston Bar Association Oil, Gas & Mineral Law Scholarship by Professor Jacqueline Weaver and Dean Nimmer.

Click here to see photos from the event.

Back to Top Stories Next Story