Next Story Back to Top Stories Next Story

Olivas named AERA fellow

Bookmark and Share
Michael OlivasLaw Center Professor Michael A. Olivas has been inducted into the 2011 “class” of Fellows of the American Educational Research Association, the fifth University of Houston professor to be honored with membership in the elite organization. Olivas holds the William B. Bates Distinguished Chair of Law and is director of the Institute of Higher Education Law & Governance.

His fellow UH inductee into the “class” of 2011 is Dr. Cheryl Craig of the College of Education. Previous inductees are Dr. Jerome Freiberg and Dr. Robert McPherson, both College of Education, and Dr. David Francis, Department of Psychology.

Fellows are nominated by their peers, selected and recommended by the Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the Association’s elected governing group. The purpose of the AERA Fellows Program is to honor education researchers with substantial research accomplishments, to convey the Association’s commitment to excellence in research, and to enable the next generation of emerging scholars to appreciate the value of sustained achievements in research and the breadth of scholarship worthy of recognition.

This prestigious honor now places the University of Houston within the following rankings for the number of AERA Fellows:

  • 1st among eight universities in Texas that have AERA Fellows
  • 15th (tied) among all American public universities that have AERA Fellows
  • 23rd (tied) among all institutions worldwide that have AERA Fellows (public and private universities, research centers, etc.)

Back to Top Stories Next Story