Moot Court National Championship

Bookmark and Share

Last year, a team from the University of Detroit Mercy emerged victorious in the inaugural Moot Court National Championship presented by the Blakely Advocacy Institute at the University of Houston Law Center.  This year, a new victor will be crowned  as 16 top teams from across the country meet in Houston for a three-day competition that begins on Jan. 28.

Each of the 16 teams “earned” invitations to the tournament by winning honors at various moot court competitions throughout the United States.  “The Moot Court National Championship is the Super Bowl of moot court competitions, with teams qualifying for the shot at a true national title.  We’re looking forward to an outstanding competition, and may the best team win,” said Jim Lawrence, who directs the Blakely Advocacy Institute. 

The sixteen teams include: 

  • Brooklyn Law School
  • Chicago - Kent College of Law
  • Duke University School of Law
  • Florida Coastal School of Law
  • Fordham University School of Law
  • John Marshall Law School, – Chicago
  • Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center
  • Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • Mercer University School of Law
  • Seton Hall University School of Law
  • South Texas College of Law
  • Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law
  • Texas Tech University School of Law
  • University of Miami School of Law
  • University of Northern Kentucky
  • William & Mary School of Law

The opening rounds of the three-day competition begin on Thursday, January 28.  For more details on times and locations, click to 

Back to Top Stories Next Story