UHLC hosts annual national mediator competition

UHLC hosts annual national mediator competition

Seun Adeyemi of the South Texas College of Law hefts the Abrams National Mediator Competition trophy after being proclaimed the winner by final round judges Brian Parmelee, left, Jeffry S. Abrams, and Louis Selig.

Oct. 29, 2014 -- Law students from across the nation converged here last weekend for the Jeffry S. Abrams National Mediator Competition hosted by the University of Houston Law Center with the downtown Houston entrant from South Texas College of Law emerging as the winner.

Seun Adeyemi, a 2nd year student at South Texas, outpointed student mediators from schools coast to coast and in-between, including in the semi-final rounds, the University of California – Hastings in San Francisco, Cardozo Law School in New York City, and Texas A&M in Fort Worth.
Serving as judges in the final round were Brian Parmelee, vice-president of JAMS, the world’s largest ADR provider, Jeffry S. Abrams, an attorney-mediator and competition sponsor, and Louis Selig, a veteran mediator.

The Abrams competition, which is not open to UHLC students, is unique in that it is the only law student competition in which students compete only as mediators.  The annual competition runs in tandem with the Newhouse Representing Clients in Mediation Competition, which is open to Law Center students only. This year’s Newhouse contest drew 24 teams with Rose Badrudain and Brandon Schrecengost emerging as the winning duo. Adeyemi served as the final round judge in the Newhouse competition.

Back to the News Homepage