Jeffry S. Abrams National Mediator Competition kicks off

Bookmark and Share

Nov. 11, 2011 – The Jeffry S. Abrams National Mediator Competition is under way at the University of Houston Law Center with a scholarship at stake for the winner. Presented by the Blakely Advocacy Institute and sponsored by distinguished Houston mediator Jeffry S. Abrams, the competition allows top law students nationwide to put their mediation skills to the test before a team of judges. The first place winner will receive the Frank G. Evans Scholarship Award for $2,000.

“This is an extraordinary dual-track competition,” said Professor Tasha Willis, ADR director of the UH Law Center. “It is one of the only competitions where students actually serve as mediators and are judged on their effectiveness as mediators. We are very excited about the turn out.”

This year 11 mediators from seven schools will be competing. Participating schools include Cardozo Law School, North Carolina Central University School of Law, Texas Southern University-Thurgood Marshall School of Law, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, Quinnipiac University School of Law, UC Hastings College of the Law, and Seton Hall University School of Law.

While the Abrams National Mediation Competition is underway, there is an intramural mediation advocacy competition, the Tom Newhouse Mediation Competition, where UH Law Center students participate as advocate/client in mediation. These intramural participants serve as the parties to the mediation rounds for the national competition.

There are preliminary rounds in the mediation competition today, a semi-final round and a final round on Saturday morning. The final round is judged by Jeffry Abrams, for whom the national competition is named; the Hon. Frank G. Evans, for whom the $2,000 scholarship awarded to the best mediator in the national competition is named; and Prof. Tom Newhouse, for whom the intramural competition is named.

JD Epstein Abrams Comp

Back to Top Stories Next Story