University of Houston Law Center Logo

44th Annual Law Gala & Auction

On Saturday, August 29, 2020, the University of Houston Law Center hosted its first virtual Annual Law Gala & Auction after having to re-imagine this signature event due to concerns surrounding COVID-19.   

The live broadcast of this event featured Star Jones ’86 as the emcee for the evening, and an online auction that launched weeks prior to the gala, and culminated with bidders outbidding each other in this new virtual format.

Originally planned for March 28, 2020, the 75-minute pre-produced program also included remarks from Gala Chairs Yvonne Ho ‘06 and Allen Rice.

The 2019-2020 Alumni Awards winners were recognized by 2019 Gala Chair and Alumni Awards Committee Chair, Bob Sergesketter ’95 and University of Houston Law Alumni Association President, Victor Wright ’98.

University of Houston Law Center Dean Leonard M. Baynes also acknowledged the 2019-2020 Alumni Awards winners and presented an update on the Law Center.  

We want to give a deep bow of appreciation to our amazing Gala Chairs for their leadership and generosity, as well as acknowledge the members of the 2020 Gala Committee and all of the sponsors, underwriters and awards winners for their commitment to the University of Houston Law Center. 

Grazie to all of our alumni and friends that joined us for this memorable masquerade event and contributed to its success!

If you missed the program or would like to re-watch it:


The support raised at this year’s event is more important than ever.  Proceeds from the 44th Annual Law Gala and Auction will fund scholarships, advocacy programs, faculty research, student organizations, library acquisitions, technology advances, student recruitments, and student activities that enrich life at the UH Law Center.  If you missed a chance to give to the Law Center, you can still make an impact.  Click on the button below to make a gift today!


2020 Gala Chairs

Yvonne Ho ’06 & Allen Rice

2020 Gala Host Committee

Sofia Adrogué ’91, Derek Anchondo ’99, Franklin Ballard ’06, Erin E. Bennett ’12, Susan L. Bickley ’84, Denis Braham ’79, Margaret Bryant ’10, Emily Buchanan ’06, Troy Chandler ’98 & Christin Chandler, Afsheen Davis ’06 & Josh Davis ’06, Tim Donoughue ’94, Scott Ellis ’06, Courtney Walsh Ervin ’05, Alissa Gipson ’16, Edward Goolsby ’14, Michelle Gray ’11, Marcy Greer ’90, Giselle Guerra ’10, Warren Harris ’88, Tom Hetherington ’98, Matt Hoffman ’12, Bill Jackson ’92, Kevin Johnson ’98, John Lahad ’09, Cynthia Mabry ’10, Chad E. Mills ’98, Derrick M. Mitchell ’99, Paul Moak ’95, Mary O’Black ’08 & Weston O’Black ’08, Ben Pollock ’06, Ricky Raven ’86 & Felicia Raven, Alex Roberts ’06, David Rusk ’14, Hon. Ravi K. Sandill ’01 & Kelly Sandill ’01, Robert Schick ’81, Richard Schwartz ’79, Robert J. Sergesketter ’95 & Denise Castillo-Rhodes, Nicholas Shum ’10, Richard Whiteley ’99, Sarah Williams ’10, Staci Wilson ’09, Willie Wood ’84, Victor Wright ’98, Hon. Alvin L. Zimmerman ’67



Bracewell LLP • Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP • Locke Lord LLP • Vinson & Elkins LLP


Blank Rome LLP • Exxon Mobil Corporation • Haynes and Boone, LLP • McDowell Hetherington LLP • Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP • William P. Swenson ’87 & Sandra Swenson


Ahmad, Zavitsanos, Anaipakos, Alavi & Mensing P.C. • Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld LLP • Baker & Hostetler LLP • Baker Hughes Company • Beck Redden LLP • Chamberlain,Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry • Chandler McNulty, LLP • Davis Law Group • Fieldwood Energy LLC • Gray Reed • Hicks Thomas LLP • Kelley Drye & Warren LLP • McKool Smith • Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr • Nathan Sommers Jacobs, A Professional Corporation • Phillips 66 Company Law Department • Carol Roach • Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP • Spencer Fane LLP • Susman Godfrey LLP • TGS-NOPEC Geophysical Company • Thompson & Knight Foundation • Ware, Jackson, Lee, O’Neill, Smith & Barrow, LLP • Winstead PC • Bill Maynard ’73 & Dawn Nelson, Lois Zamora 


Sofia Adrogué ’91 & Caroline Baker Hurley • Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend LLP • Berkeley Research Group (BRG), LLC • Eversheds Sutherland • Fogler, Brar, O’Neil & Gray, LLP •
Jones Walker LLP • Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP


Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP


CIBC Private Wealth Management • Mark Elias / UBS Private Wealth Management • Yvonne Ho ’06 & Allen Rice • Lee Kaplan • Kirkland & Ellis LLP • Bill Maynard ’73 • Regina Rogers • Yetter Coleman LLP

*As of 7/27/2020

For additional event details